Diets: science or common sense?

Kali
2 min readSep 11, 2023

--

Let me preface this by saying that I’m going to transform this into a recipe site while talking about mental game.

I’m also an accomplished chef / cook with several culinary feats under my belt including proper Italian / Indian / Asian culinary training and most importantly, practice.

It’s always been my side ambition to do something that blends fitness and diet. Let’s go!

MetCon monkey in the kitchen

I was having a light conversation recently with the yoga guru that I’m working with and his perspective on nutrition stuck with me. I’ll get into that shortly.

Before we go there, I must admit that nutrition is probably one of the most controversial subjects out there. It’s shocking.

Have a discussion with a vegan and a gym bro about protein intake and you will see what I mean…

The conversation was in regards to yoga practice and when to eat. His rule of thumb is to wait 4 hours between meals and to always practice on an empty stomach to ensure the mind is in a clear state with a clear disclaimer, you have to do what is best for you in regards to performance both mentally and physically.

That got me thinking about intermittent fasting and other nutritional strategies that seem to be trending. Why do people always gravitate to the latest trend?

We aren’t hunters and gatherers anymore. Last I checked, we fly around the world in airplanes. So why eat like a hunter/gatherer when you have a flight to catch to Los Angeles?

I would surmise that the key is to gain control of yourself and mental faculties such as discipline.

From there, eat what you enjoy, when you enjoy it, to support your lifestyle in a smart manner, of course.

Hence, long term success is probably achievable by looking inwards not outside.

I will be blogging about mental discipline which trumps everything and showcasing recipes I create using fusion cooking styles, high quality ingredients to support metabolic conditioning.

Stay tuned!

--

--